Guide to Building Rain Gardens out of Recycled Concrete

May 30, 2011 § 4 Comments

Left side of urbanite rain garden 1-pager I drew in 2008, click for full page

A flash from the past! I created this 8-page Landscape Rainwater Harvesting booklet for a workshop I taught the summer of 2008. The class was held June 14th 2008 at Los Angeles Eco-Village. The main activity was building las trincheras – an urbanite-terraced rainwater harvesting garden that I wrote about here a while back – and in this vid. It’s funny, the workshop was pre-creekfreak – the month before Jessica and I got started with L.A. Creek Freak in July 2008.

Right side of rain garden page - click for full page, link for full booklet in blog text

Note that the booklet owes a great deal to Brad Lancaster… it’s sort of an 8-page lite version Lancaster’s Rainwater Harvesting for Drylands volumes 1 and 2. Also thanks to permaculture teacher Larry Santoyo who first showed me how he builds garden beds with broken concrete.

Thanks, Dore, for reminding me about this booklet and scanning and assembling it!

Tagged: ,

§ 4 Responses to Guide to Building Rain Gardens out of Recycled Concrete

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Guide to Building Rain Gardens out of Recycled Concrete at L.A. Creek Freak.

meta