GoogleEarth files of historical creeks

May 27, 2010 § 5 Comments

Creekfreaks, I must confess some technical limitations: I don’t know how to upload GIS layers into a mapping program that we could then insert into Creekfreak that would allow you all to scroll around and find the lost creeks of LA from our site. Joe’s got good ideas about how to do it, and at some point I’ll wade through the process…

Til then, click to link to my Google Earth community posts of .kmz files of creeks, wetlands etc. So far, I just have the Ballona Creek watershed and one image of Woodbury Creek. More to come, unless I figure out the mapping bit first.

And post about your adventures looking for these creeks!

Tagged: , ,

§ 5 Responses to GoogleEarth files of historical creeks

  • Brian Sims says:

    A friend just pointed me in the direction of this blog. I am what I guess one might call a mapping professional. By that I mean I manage a GIS program for a San Gabriel Valley city. GIS for the uninitiated is Geographic Information Systems.

    If you would like some assistance or direction with mapping your data drop me a line at MTBMaven at yahoo dot com.

    Luckily for you there are lots of free tools available these days to create and annotate geo-content (i.e. mapping data).

  • Kai Craig says:

    Hi Jessica,

    There’s a plugin that lets you embed a Google Earth viewer into web pages and include your map layers: http://code.google.com/apis/earth/

    -Kai

    • Jessica Hall says:

      And, nice to hear from you! Hope you are well – I saw your post to Joe’s story and went to your co. website -looks like you’re doing good work!

  • Jessica Hall says:

    Thanks Kai! I’ll take a look.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading GoogleEarth files of historical creeks at L.A. Creek Freak.

meta

