Receiving a County Green Leadership Award

April 20, 2010 § 4 Comments

The hand-lettered certificate to prove it!

This morning I had the pleasure of receiving a Green Leadership Award from the Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors. There were five honorees; my award was the chair’s award – selected by County Supervisors’ Chair Gloria Molina. I was happy to see my notification letter addressed to “Joe Linton, LA Creek Freak”!

I had to speak very briefly (also being honored were Armenian Genocide Remembrance, Crime Victims Week, and more) and here’s more-or-less what I said. I thanked all the supervisors for the culture change that I’ve seen in the Los Angeles County Department of Public Works, in that now they’re supportive of multi-benefit watershed-based projects. I thanked supervisors Molina, Knabe and Yaroslavsky for their work on revitalizing the L.A. River, and thanked Supervisor Ridley-Thomas for his new leadership on Compton Creek. I closed by mentioning that I had listed the supervisors in the acknowledgements in my book, Down by the Los Angeles River, which I gave a copy of to Supervisor Molina. 

(If I’d had more time, I’d have mentioned L.A. Creek Freak, my co-bloggers Jessica and Jane, and our efforts afoot to inform and inspire the next generation of creek activists.)

At the top of the post is what the certificate they gave me looked like; and here’s what it says:

County of Los Angeles Chair’s Green Leadership Award
Joe Linton
Author, Artist and Community Activist

Whereas Joe Linton is recognized for his exceptional advocacy and dediction to green leadership; his personal commitment to revitalize the Los Angeles River, and to advocate for parks, landscape, bike paths and much more, enhances community livability, transportation, and environmental sustainability; and

Whereas his efforts to motivate and inspire others gave led to numerous initiatives and activities that have been adopted within the county;

Now, therefore, be it resolved that the Board of Supervisors of the county of Los Angeles hereby commends and honors Joe Linton with the annual county of Los Angeles Chair’s Green Leadership Award.

Adopted by order of the Board of Supervisors of the county of Los Angeles, State of California
April 20, 2010

Signed: Gloria Molina, Mark Ridley-Thomas, Zev Yaroslavsky, Don Knabe, and Mike Antonovich

Supervisor Gloria Molina giving me the award. Folks from the Watershed Council and County Public Works visible behind us. Photo courtesy L.A. County

Other Green Leadership Award winners today included: 
California Cartage Company‘s Natural Gas Port Truck Project
Fellow creek freaks Los Angeles and San Gabriel Rivers Watershed Council‘s
Elmer Avenue Neighborhood Retrofit Project
The city of Pasadena’s Sustainability Metrics Program, and
Ashley Zarella Hand’s Community-Driven Change

Congratulations to all of us!

(updated Wed 4/21 – added second photo)

Tagged: , ,

§ 4 Responses to Receiving a County Green Leadership Award

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Receiving a County Green Leadership Award at L.A. Creek Freak.

meta

