FilterForGood Challenge

April 15, 2009 § 6 Comments

Brita's environmental site: www.filterforgood.com

Brita's environmental site: http://www.filterforgood.com

Tag! I’m it! Siel, of the fun and informative Green LA Girl blog, challenged me to blog about five things I am doing this Earth Month (apparently Earth Day wasn’t enough) for the good of the earth, and to pass the challenge along to five other bloggers. Yup, it is definitely a viral marketing tie-in for the Brita corporation, who do seem to be concerned about the environment, health, and clean water – and against bottled water (yay! bottled water is pretty nasty for the environment.)   And, if you suspect an interested motive, you’re correct: if I do all this, I may win cool water filter products from Brita.

Here are five things I am doing for good this Earth Month:

1. Gardening-For-GoodSiel pledged to get her garden going, so I’ll start there, too… er… I mean, in my garden though, not hers!  Spring is the best time in the garden. This month I will plant more of my summer veggies – corn, tomatoes, peppers, cucumbers… mmmm.  I will work with my neighbors to finish creating our new multi-functional raised bed / seating bench in front of Los Angeles Eco-Village – similar to this one.

2. For-the-Good-of-Hazard-Park – On and off now for a while, I’ve been working on some illustrations for a campaign planning to restore a creekbed and wetlands at Hazard Park. The park is located in Boyle Heights, near County USC Medical Center. This month I will finish my illustrations and will post here at Creek Freak to get the word out on this excellent campaign. Keep your RSS tuned here. I’ll probably post the illustrations at my art blog, too.

3. Parking-For-Good – It’s probably more aptly Not-Parking-For-Good or Less-Parking-For-Good (or maybe Finishing-the-In-Lieu-Parking-Report-For-Good – ok, enough!)  This month I promise to complete my work coordinating the writing and disseminating of a white paper by Dr. Richard W. Willson. The topic (a bit wonky, but actually really good for the environment) is how the city of Los Angeles might implement an “in-lieu fee” to reduce excess parking at new developments in transit-rich areas. Instead of building excessive unneeded parking, new development could pay a portion of the money they would have spent to build infrastructure for bicycing, walking, transit, and/or shared off-street parking. The report was commissioned by the Green LA Transportation Working Group. I’ll be posting that final report on our blog soooon! This month!

4. Reading-For-Good – I am going to read the newly released book This Could Be the Start of Something Big. It’s co-written by my friend and stalwart environmental justice activist Martha Matsuoka. It’s about how regional equity movements are improving our cities.  What, you might ask, is “regional equity”??  Well… it’s a grassroots movement that builds on past work for civil rights and brings it into the way we grow and shape our cities and regions.  There are, of course, entire blogs on it.  Here’s another brief explanation of regional equity, from an article on-line:

Proponents of regional equity blame widespread spacial inequality on a combination of public policy and market forces, and they call on policy makers, elected officials, and community activists to take a regional approach to economic growth so that all residents will benefit.

5. Bicycling-For-Good – I’m going to keep bicycling all over. I am looking forward to a Los Angeles that doesn’t have any cars. I’ve been thinking that I should write a blog entry making those connections between bicycling and environmental/watershed health. Look for that soon, too, here at your friendly neighborhood creak freek.

Here are five bloggers whom I’m passing the challenge along to – they’re all friends and they all have excellent and informative blogs that you should all read immediately!  (Note to my fellow bloggers – no pressure – I will continue to read and adore you, even if you don’t accept my challenge to advertise Brita!)

Andrea at (among others) the L.A. Eco-Village Garden Blog
Erik at Home Grown Evolution
Federico and Yuki at (among others) the Los Angeles Eco-Village Blog
Ilsa at Rambling L.A.
Liz and Shay at C.I.C.L.E.

The good news is that I expect that all of us blogistas so routinely track and savor inbound links, that I probably don’t even need to notify any of them (other than by publishing this blog with their links), though I will.  They’ll probably have discovered that I’ve tagged them before you’ve read this far!

The rules are simple – and to comply with the contest, I’m obligated to post them here. If you’re tagged (or even if you’re just reading this) and you’re up to the challenge, post five things you plan to do for the environment this Earth Month on your blog. At the end of your list, tag five of your favorite blogs, and include a link back to this post using the hyperlinked text “FilterForGood Blog Meme Contest.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to FilterForGood Challenge

  • federico says:

    among other things i’m doing for good this earth month is to continue to read and adore you, even though you challenged me to advertise some corporation, even a seemingly “nice” one.

  • Joe Linton says:

    hehehehehehe … thank you Federico! well put.

  • velorucion says:

    hmmm. . . we’ll see what I come up with . . .🙂 ❤! (for joe, not brita!)

  • I’m impressed that you followed FilterForGood’s instructions even more closely than I did, turning all your steps into the x-for-good format🙂 Good luck with the goals — though since most of them are just continuing to do what you’re doing, I don’t think you’ll have too much trouble🙂

  • Barbara says:

    1. With the loss of my daily 60 mile commute, I am trying to stay out of the car except on 2 days (or less) each week. It feels good and my bicycle is enjoying its new-found liberation from the garage.

    2. In my ongoing quest to surreptitiously get rid of my lawn – without my husband noticing that the remaining bits are still under attack – I dug out 10 square ft. to plant a lime tree.

    3. Fighting the man to keep my nearly irrigation-free native plant parkway garden from succumbing to arcane city regulations.

    4. Isn’t that enough!!!!

  • Congrats, you’ve won the Brita/FFG prize pack!! Just shoot over your mailing address and I’ll put it in the mail. Keep up the great green tips!!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading FilterForGood Challenge at L.A. Creek Freak.

meta

