Joe’s Returning to L.A. to Write Full-time for Streetsblog

January 29, 2014 § 7 Comments

The Hackensack River in Jersey City, NJ - near its confluence with the Passaic River

The Hackensack River in Jersey City, NJ – near its confluence with the Passaic River

Apologies to all our readers for putting up with very very little in the way of near material here at L.A. Creek Freak. Life circumstances took both Jessica and I out of L.A. a couple years ago. We love L.A. and her creeks and streams, but it’s difficult to keep in touch with them from afar.

I am happy to announce that I am on my way back. I’ll be returning to L.A., with my sweet wife and my 6-month old daughter, and, as of mid-February, writing full-time for L.A. Streetsblog. Streetsblog focuses on walking, bicycling, and transit issues in Southern California. When Jessica Hall and I were first starting L.A. Creek Freak, back in 2008, we discussed wanting LACF to do for water issues what LASB does for transportation issues.

I am looking forward to including a fair amount of L.A. River coverage in my Streetsblog writing. Creekfreaks may want to check out my Streetsblog article yesterday musing on how city park and transportation departments might work together better to extend L.A.’s greenway facilities including the L.A. River bike path

I’ve enjoyed my time on the East Coast. I’ve been living in Jersey City, working in the Bronx, and exploring plenty of great rivers out here. The place I became most familiar with was the Bronx River, see my earlier creek freak articles about that. I’ve also been exploring the Hudson, the Passaic, and the Hackensack. I think it’s important to find the rivers and creeks wherever you find yourself.

Looking forward to finding myself back in Los Angeles very soon.

Tagged: , ,

§ 7 Responses to Joe’s Returning to L.A. to Write Full-time for Streetsblog

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Joe’s Returning to L.A. to Write Full-time for Streetsblog at L.A. Creek Freak.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 838 other followers

