Remembering Rey Dominguez 1944-2012

September 16, 2012 § 2 Comments

Reymundo Dominguez – photo from Patch, credit Barlow Hospital

I had the bittersweet pleasure of attending yesterday’s memorial service for Rey Dominguez, a community leader in Elysian Valley, whom I knew from our work together to restore and revitalize the Los Angeles River through his community. If readers want more information, there’s a full Reymundo Dominguez obituary at Echo Park Patch. I just want to record a few of my recollections of my interactions with Rey, who was someone I had and still have a great deal of respect and admiration for.

I met Rey and his wife Ceci around 1999 (or 2000) when plans were underway for Marsh Street Park. There was some conflict between neighbors and the Mountains Recreation and Conservation Authority. Elysian Valley residents were interested in creating a skate park at the site; the MRCA invested in their mission of creating natural parks.  « Read the rest of this entry »

Where Am I?

You are currently viewing the archives for Sunday, September 16th, 2012 at L.A. Creek Freak.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 848 other followers