This Morning’s L.A. River Art

July 25, 2012 § 1 Comment

So… no posts for a month, then two today… oh well. On my way bicycling back from this morning’s groundbreaking, I stopped to do a river sketch.

Los Angeles River – Elysian Valley – at 2 Freeway Bridge, by Joe Linton, ink on paper in Sketchbook No. 62, 25 June 2012, about 11″x14″

It’s in Elysian Valley, looking upstream toward the 2 Freeway Bridge. Note that I typically do a lot of vertical hatching, but when there’s water, the horizontal hatching is called for. More of my river drawings in my book, at my art show (up through August 15th 2012) and at my art blog.

I wasn’t the only person out doing L.A. River art today. There was a whole class from Otis College of Art and Design – out painting. I checked out their work, and took some photos of the ones I liked best:

Otis art student painting the L.A. – under the 2 Freeway bridge

More Otis students painting the river – near Fletcher Drive Bridge

Otis art student painting the L.A. River – near the 2 Freeway bridge

Great to see other folks out spending time, observing, and being inspired by the mighty Los Angeles.

And for someĀ really good L.A. River paintings, see Akiko Crawford’s pieces!

Tagged: , , , ,

§ One Response to This Morning’s L.A. River Art

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading This Morning’s L.A. River Art at L.A. Creek Freak.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 838 other followers

