Western Waters Focus at ALOUD Event Next Wednesday

May 31, 2012 § Leave a comment

ALOUD’s Reflections on Western Water event is next Wednesday June 6 2012

For many years, the Downtown Los Angeles Central Library hosted and continues to host an excellent speakers series called ALOUD.  I’ve enjoyed all kinds of great talks there – from Sherman Alexie to Alison Bechdel to Art Spiegelman. L.A. Creek Freak covered an earlier ALOUD event highlighting the legacies of Wallace Stegner.

Today LACF previews next week’s ALOUD program The Elemental West: Reflections on Moving Water featuring Kathleen Dean Moore and Craig Childs in conversation with William Deverell. The event takes place Wednesday June 6th 2012 at 7pm. It’s a free event, but rsvp is recommended and easy to do on-line here

From the event description online:

Two celebrated writers deeply influenced by the riparian and other landscapes of the American West will read from their work and explore how storytelling – in the tradition of Thoreau and Emerson – can give voice to natural resources.

Kathleen Dean Moore is an activist and author who teaches at Oregon State University. Her most recent book is Moral Ground; it focuses on the moral imperatives for solving climate change to pass a healthy environment on to future generations. Worth reading: her Blue River Declaration. Below is a video with excerpts of a talk Moore gave earlier this year at Simon Fraser University in Vancouver, BC: (full hour-long talk here)

Craig Childs is an award-winning writer who explores dramatic wild landscapes. Below is a video from a Craig Childs talk in 2008 at the San Francisco Public Library:

Moderator Bill Deverell is probably most familiar to L.A.’s Creek Freaks. He teaches history at USC. He has a lot of areas of expertise, but I especially enjoy his insights about how environment, race, and immigration shaped  Los Angeles history. I’ve enjoyed hearing him speak more than a half dozen times, including that earlier ALOUD panel. I highly recommend these books of his: Eden by Design, Whitewashed Adobe, and Land of Sunshine.

And if that’s not enough for you – come and say hi to your fellow creek freaks – next Wednesday.

About these ads

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

What’s this?

You are currently reading Western Waters Focus at ALOUD Event Next Wednesday at L.A. Creek Freak.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 793 other followers

%d bloggers like this: