Updates to Where’s My Creek?

March 26, 2011 § 4 Comments

Just letting you know that we’re working to get dynamic creek maps going. It’s awkward, highly imperfect, and kinda groovy. While I’m also embedding it here, I suggest you read about the imperfections/caveats at the Where’s My Creek page. Or follow the “view larger map” link to explore more – and discover the petty frustrations of the map for yourself!

Tagged: , ,

§ 4 Responses to Updates to Where’s My Creek?

  • Charlie says:

    Hey Creek Freak! I am working on a very similar project in Pittsburgh where I am making a Google Map of historic and current channels, along with some narrative info, photos, and art mixed in. It’s a neat project but I am also running into some formating issues. Perhaps we should collaborate!

    See http://maps.google.com/maps/ms?ie=UTF8&hl=en&msa=0&ll=40.436365,-79.945621&spn=0.042986,0.171833&t=h&z=13&msid=209194816328201642772.00049bce9b42c17b8b39e

    • Jessica Hall says:

      Charlie, love the map! I see all your data showing up on one panel, unlike mine. Did you draw it in Google Maps or import it the data? Would be interested in talking more about your formatting concerns.

      • Charlie says:

        Thanks!

        I drew the maps by hand using Google Earth. Actually, they were originally hand drawn on a USGS topo, then drawn on using MS Paint, before I made the Google Earth map. It seemed really hard to use Google Maps to draw something like that so I didn’t bother.

        My main formatting issue is that, on my little netbook, the pictures and notes come up too big in Google Maps so you can’t see the window without scrolling the map. I guess I could try changing to a smaller photo size but I am not really sure how it would work on other computers. I also managed to import it into my iPhone Google Earth which is really neat, but a bit buggy. I see people with stand alone apps with really sleek interface but I don’t know how to do that (yet) as I am trained as an ecologist rather than a programmer. I may try to learn at some point though…

        For more info, email me at naturalist.charlie at gmail.com

  • [...] learn more about LA Creek Freak’s interactive watershed map, please visit their Where’s My Creek? page. Also, please let us know what you find out by sharing your comments below! LA Creek Freak, [...]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Updates to Where’s My Creek? at L.A. Creek Freak.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 765 other followers

